The Texas Real Estate Commission requires Salesperson licensees to complete 18 hours of MCE every 2 yrs, 6 hours of which must be in Legal and Ethics Training. Our online packages offer the 15 hours.. Our courses give you the flexibility to take your MCE courses whenever and wherever it's convenient for you. More TREC Information
This complete broker package includes all 15 hours of MCE required for renewals of active licensees of individual sponsoring brokers, designated brokers of a business entity or delegated supervisors (for 6 months or more) on or after September 1, 2012.
The purpose of this course is to communicate recent updates, changes, and addendums to laws, regulations, legal definitions, and forms as they apply to real estate practice in the state of Texas. Since judicial interpretation provides the effective enforcement of these changes, a section containing several case studies is included in the course in order to illustrate the law in action in contemporary practice.
TREC Ethics Update MCE
The purpose of this course is to provide guidance and discussion of the ethical requirements and concerns affecting Texas Real Estate Agents. First, the five canons of professional ethics and conduct are identified and discussed. Because agency relationships are critical to real estate transactions, this relationship is explored. Another relationship that is explored involves connections between parties in real estate transactions, including intermediary brokerage relationships and sub agency. The relationship between a real estate agent and a client is a fiduciary one, requiring each agent to put clients' interests first and adhere to the particular standards and ethics required by law. The varied responsibilities and duties of the real estate agent to different parties may often lead to conflicts of interest. Real estate agents must be aware of these potential conflicts and must also of how to prevent and deal with them.
This module discusses liens, taxes and foreclosures.
There are many types of liens, as well as several kinds of taxes, that can attach to a parcel of real estate.
When borrowers default on a debt, foreclosure is the process by which lienholders collect the unpaid portion of a debt. Because liens represent an interest in real property, it is crucial that real estate licensees develop an in-depth understanding of liens and lien-related issues.
Such knowledge also helps licensees to better advise buyers and sellers.
The first lesson presents a general overview of liens.
It explains the classification of liens and discusses the types of non-tax liens.
Lesson two discusses taxes and tax issues, including ad valorem taxes, real estate tax computation, special assessments, real estate transfer taxes, federal income taxes, capital gains taxes and tax shelters for homeowners and investors.
It also discusses the priority of liens.
Lesson three addresses the methods of foreclosure, redemption, deficiency judgments, tips for homeowners facing foreclosure and fraudulent behaviors related to foreclosure.
Some real estate licensees believe that their job ends when the purchase and sales contract is signed, and in fact, in many states, the licensee has no official duties throughout the closing process
. However, transactions can and do fall apart during the closing stage.
Licensees who are familiar with the closing procedures and settlement costs can stay involved and make sure that their transactions meet the desired end.
This module covers the buyer’s and seller’s concerns at closing, the required documents to close a transaction and the rules and regulations of the closing process.
In addition, the student will learn ways to help clients through this sometimes complicated process.
Finally, the student will learn how to calculate closing expenses and fill out the settlement statement.
As the student completes this module, he or she should attempt to fit this information in with the big picture of the real estate business.
The conclusion of the module will assist with drawing the information together by presenting real world practice, comprehension questions and case studies for the student’s consideration. MM Update to match script correctly completed on
Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Information
You must complete 15 hours of MCE to renew your license in ACTIVE status (including 3 hours in TREC's Legal Update, 3 hours in TREC's Ethics MCE, and 9 hours in MCE electives).
If you are a broker who sponsors a salesperson, a designated broker of a business entity, or a license holder who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for 6 months or moreduring the current license, your MCE must include 6 hours in the TREC Broker Responsibility course,
3 hours in TREC's Legal Update, 3 hours in TREC's Ethics MCE, and 3 hours in MCE electives.
If you cannot complete the MCE requirement, you may renew your license in INACTIVE status prior to the expiration date of your license to avoid paying a $200 deferral fee and late reporting fees.
However, you will not be able to perform real estate activities that require a license while your status is INACTIVE.
Sales Annual Education (SAE) Information Core credit will not be awarded if the same core course is taken within 2 years of each other.
Salespersons completing their first term of licensure must have a total of 270 hours in TREC records (including 210 core real estate course hours and 60 related or core hours).
SAE must be posted to your records before you can renew online.
You must complete your MCE at least 4 days prior to renewing your license to avoid a deferral fee.
Effective January 1, 2015, if Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE. Read more at TREC: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/education/mce_faq.asp
Student may take a portion of the course, Bookmark it and resume the class later.
Student may print Certificate of Completion online at time of course completion.
Online final exams
Payment for courses is available by Master CardVISA,, American Express, Discover, PayPal or online check.
"24 hour MCE Rule"
As of Sept 1, 2007, a licensee who takes an online MCE (Mandatory Continuing Education) course will not be allowed to complete an online course in less than Twernty four (24) hours.
If a licensee has paid their renewal fee and begins an online MCE course for renewal purposes on the day their license expires, credit will not be awarded for completing the course on that day (regardless of how many hrs credit the course is for).
If this occurs, the licensee's MCE will be considered late and a $200 Late MCE penalty fee will be assessed. to the licensee.
New laws effective in 2011 and 2012 are good news for both consumers and licensees.
Read it offline on your desktop, laptop, ipad or nook
Log on any time day or night
All at once or start and stop
Login for final exam
TREC Provider #9855
For distance learning, The Texas Real Estate Commission considers an online course complete when credit is awarded by the provider.
The provider shall award the student credit for the course no earlier than 24 hours after the student starts and completes the course requirements for credit.
The certificate shall reflect the completion date that conforms with this requirement.
Please take this 24 hour period into consideration when choosing to start your course, especially if you are extremely close to your expiration date.
We're sorry, our MCE courses are temporarily unavailable while we update them. Please bookmark this page and check back soon
Effective January 1, 2016: CE hours are increasing from 15 to 18 hours. Students that have not completed their CE requirements by 12/31/15 will fall under the new rule and the new guidelines will need to be met for renewal.
To renew your license timely you must have your Continuing Education (CE) completed and posted to your record at the time the renewal fee is paid. The renewal fee must be paid within 90 days of the license expiration date. If Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE. Section 535.71(dd) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission states “The provider shall award the student credit for the course no earlier than 24 hours after the student starts the course and after the student completes the course requirements for credit.”